Horsing around

3 Nov

Yesterday was the race that stops the nation – The Melbourne Cup. I was eager to see the fashions on the field from the celebs; some pleased and some didn’t. I think when it comes to race day beauty, less is more. I mean who wants to be worrying about touch ups of bold lippy and a smudged smokey d-eye-lemma??? Let’s have a looksie at my favourite picks for the day in the beauty and fashion stakes.

Ricki-Lee Coulter. Seriously. What a cutie. Not only did she nail the make up but that dress!! A beautiful Alex Perry design in a colour that screams Spring. The fascinator was cute too, it matched the dress but wasn’t too overbearing. She kept her make up simple, opting for big bold eyelashes, luminous skin and a pale pink lipstick. What a winner! Is it just me or is Ricki-Lee looking like such a hottie lately?

Rachael Finch. I personally really liked the colour she wore. Oh and her hair. How delightful. She really is working the ‘dessert’ hair trend that is so hot tamale right now. As with Ricki-Lee, Rachael has opted to keep the make-up clean and simple. What a clever little sausage. I bet she was a winner at the end of the day, NO not because she backed Americain, but because she would have still looked elegant and fresh at the end of the day.

Jennifer Hawkins. I wasn’t too fussed with her “mickey mouse ears” looking headpiece, but I have to say good ol’ Jen always looks amazing. Her hair is full of volume and the colour is perfection. As well as her stand out make up and hair, her dress was a winner too! But Jen could look good in paper bag. Don’t you hate that?

So now to the fails of the field day fashions and beauty – and let me tell you there were a few, but here are a few of the doozys.

Sophie Monk channeling Pocahontas. Seriously what the eff? Is that a feather headpiece that her niece* knocked up at preschool? (Soph may or may not have a niece – I don’t know but you get the idea.) And the hair is….. bleh. Really, do you want to be blonde or brunette? DECIDE!!

Kate Waterhouse as the Statue of Liberty. I’m thinking that maybe dear Kate has just recycled her halloween costume here? I know that the headpiece is Givenchy and all, but really? It’s Melbourne Cup for effs sake and you’re racing royalty! The dress is just.. okay. She sadly could have done so so much better, she is such a stunner and is usually faultless with her fashions.

Who else did you think was a field day fashion and beauty fail? Gosh there were so many hey? Don’t even get me started on that Brynne bird and her homemade “bird” headpiece.

Anyone else girl crushing on Ricki-Lee lately?

[Image credit: theheraldsun.com.au]

2 Responses to “Horsing around”

  1. Stella November 9, 2010 at 9:58 am #

    I hated J Hawkins ‘ears’ !
    I don’t really like her though.

    Ricki-Lee looked gorgeous. She can’t do anything wrong lately ( in my eyes ! )

    • hip&haute November 9, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

      I know, I didn’t really think the ears were the best choice, but I love Jen’s dress. Ditto about Ricki-Lee, she’s so gorgeous (especially after being up at the crack of dawn that day). I want her beautician!! I hear Ricki-Lee sometimes does her own make up too. Props to her.

Leave a comment