Cheap Chills

5 Jun

I’m starting to feel the winter chill now, and boy does my skin know it. The change in season wreaks havoc on my skin and I have to change my skin routine to suit. So in comes the heavy artillery – the winter skin saviours.

If you too are starting to see the harsh signs of winter on your skin… then sit back and let me show you the cheap and cheerful products I am using to keep my skin in tip-top condition in the cooler months… and all products listed are under $35! THAT SHIT CRAY!

Blackmores Natural Vitamin E Cream (AU$9.95) is a rich moisturising cream that protects skin. It has no artificial colours or fragrances and contains vitamin E, avocado oil, apricot kernel oil and vitamin A. I slather this on my face when it needs an instant injection of moisture (you can even use it like a face mask if you don’t like heavy creams left on your face) and I apply liberally onto my dry spots before going to bed (i.e. around my nose).

Trilogy Certified Organic Rosehip Oil (AU$19.95) is a natural skin oil that helps to improve the appearance of scars, stretch marks, wrinkles and dry skin.  A combination of potent active ingredients and 100% natural formula make it highly effective for other skin concerns including ageing skin, dehydration, and uneven skin tone. I swear by this product, I use it daily all throughout the year (not just winter). It helps to moisturise dry skin and contains essential fatty acids that are critical for skin health, but aren’t able to be reproduced by our skin. The lipids found in Rosehip oil are similar to those found in your skin; therefore, it absorbs easily, leaving no oily residue. This is of particular importance to people who think applying an oil will give you oily skin… MUCH THE OPPOSITE. It actually helps to balance oil flow in the skin.

Sukin Botanical Hydration Booster* (AU$23.95), a 100% natural elixir, rich in argan oil and immortelle formulated to help improve skin elasticity and deliver bright, radiant skin. Great for an instant hydration boost when you have been travelling in dry air conditions or work in harsh air conditioning all day (ME!). Contains a lot of skin-loving essentials oils such as Jojoba Oil, Ylang Ylang and Argan Oil.

Sukin Hydrating Mist Toner (AU$9.95) an alcohol-free, skin hydrating mist combines German chamomile and rosewater to help soothe, tone and cool tired skin. Use after cleansing (I use it as a toner) or whenever your skin feels tired or stressed. Perfect for hot days, long flights or long days in an air-conditioned environment.

Vaseline Cocoa Butter Deep Conditioning Lotion (AU$7.99 / $10.99,  375mL / 750mL) contains rich cocoa butter to help even skin tone, while smoothing away roughness and penetrating deep into the skin where dryness starts. The specially formulated lotion is enriched with vitamin E and conditioning moisturisers to leave skin soft and supple, without leaving an oil slick all over your body. I love that this lotion instantly absorbs into the skin so you’re not slipping and sliding around. Oh and the pump top is oh so convenient!

Lanolips Lemonaid Lip Aid (AU$15.95) is an ultra rich and creamy whipped lanolin lip treatment with organic lemon oil to naturally exfoliate, leaving lips fresh, soft and moist. The citric acid in the organic lemon oil acts as a natural exfoliator on dry, dead skin. I apply this to my lips before bed every night and wake up with soft, supple and non-scaly lips every morning. I don’t think I could do without this wonder product in Winter. It is literally my lip lifesaver!

Baby Lips in NEW! Mango Pie (AU$3.95), a lip balm that gives 8 hour hydration and is super hydrating thanks to shea butter, centella and vitamin complex. And for those of you who don’t know, centella is a herb that is an effective remedy for various ailments, one being skin conditions. Cheap and effective, GET ON THAT SHIZ! Mango Pie and the NY Fashion Week  limited edition in Berry are both my favourites.

Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream (AU$34) is a light-textured cream giving 24-hour hydration, it helps to retain moisture within the skin, leaving skin feeling comfortable and well-balanced. The hero ingredients, Antarcticine and Imperata Cylindrica both have super hydrating properties to shield your skin from the harsh cold climate and to retain the moisture in your skin. I swear by this moisturiser. I recommend it for all skin types. Try it… trust me you won’t be disappointed.

The whole idea is to be pumping in as much moisture into your skin over the cooler months to make sure that your skin stays plump and glowing. If you didn’t know, essential fatty acids are key to keeping your skin and hair healthy, so as well as applying hydration and moisture onto your skin make sure to pop 2 – 4 Fish Oil capsules a day to maintain your body’s omega 3 fatty acids.

So Hautees, any tips for maintaining healthy and hydrated skin throughout Winter? I would to hear your tips and product recommendations. 

Products marked with a * were kindly sent for consideration, as per my disclosure statement, this did not influence my opinion in any way and all reviews are of my own honest opinion.
2 Responses to “Cheap Chills”

  1. Miss Fancye June 10, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    The winter Brisbane CBD wind is killing my skin (I could be exaggerating). Interesting to hear you use Sukin – I have one product of theirs but have never heard anyone else use their products.

    I am not big in the way of serums – but I am definitely keen on using the rosehip oil again, I found I really liked that. My thing is – I don’t know WHEN to apply it. Where in your skin routine do you apply it?

    I have a Night of Olay Cream that was recommended by Total Beauty which I bought in the US and it’s wonderfully hydrating – my skin drinks it up. I use the Olay All Day UV Complete Moisturiser every morning. The Olay combination is working wonders for my combo leaning towards dry skin.

    The Garnier Body Lotion Intensive 7 Days in Mango is my HG body moisturiser. I HATE when my body gets greasy from creams. They are so cheap and you can often pick them up at pharmacies and Priceline in dual packs 2 for $10. I keep one at work and at home.

    Lip hydration – I am a Carmex fiend. Or Crackmex s I call it – apparently it has addictive ingredients in it (like crack) somewhat similar to the chemical they put in tobacco patches on your arm. I don’ think they sell them here in Oz, but I have the Carmex lip balm solid sticks for priming under my lipstick. I am a sucker for their Cherry Carmex lip tubes too. Ugh. Swoon! However, I am now hella keen to try the Baby Lips I have heard great things.

    Enough waffling, thanks for the post! You’ve given me another excuse to buy more products ;)

    Miss Fancye

  2. Katy Potaty June 14, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

    I swear by the Estee Lauder Maximum Hydrationist creme http://www.esteelauder.com.au/product/688/7211/Product-Catalog/Skincare/By-Category/Moisturisers/Hydrationist/Maximum-Moisture-Creme/index.tmpl It’s such a rich lush creme for your skin!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

