cheers to the freakin’ weekend

12 Sep

Well well. Hello Monday. I do not like you. You’re such an anticlimax after the delightful weekend I just had.

The T-Boy is back this week which is de-frickin-lightful. If you aren’t aware, the Boy works away, so he’s only back for one week of the month which really sucks balls. But when he is back we take it as an opportunity to spend quality time together and go and eat out (my favourite!!).

Saturday night the boy and I headed out to dinner, and I chose the place – Simpatico Bar & Bistro on the Cnr Given & Latrobe Terrace, Paddington. If you reside in Brisbane, you would know that Saturday was WINDY AS SHIT! I’m talking branch-breaking, bin-bashing type status. So of course, when we got to Simpatico, where were we seated? Outside, stuck right in the corner, away from any of the gas heaters. Hmmm lucky I took a second jacket. But even then, it was still cold. To make matters worse, we were “forgotten” and no waitress took our order for like 15-20 mins!! Supposedly (and this was the excuse given), our waitress had gone missing?

We ordered Fried Green Olives w Roast Garlic Mayo to start, and we both ordered the Beef eye fillet w wild mushroom bread & butter pudding, watercress & confit garlic for mains. I got a Cabernet Merlot (my excuse was it was to warm me up) and the boy got a beer called Little Creatures or something? It was good (for beer)!

Lucky for them, the food was good (they apologised and gave us the olives on the house). I didn’t get to take any pictures of the food because it was a bit too dark (and I didn’t want to bring attention by using the flash). After dining at Simpatico, we headed into Rosalie and got a take home pack of Gelato! YUMMO.

Sunday morning we headed to breakfast at my fave, Vue Lounge in New Farm. This place never disappoints. Best coffee and breakfasts! Afterwards I headed over to Thousand Island Dressing which is in the same complex as Vue and bought a jewellery tree that I had been eyeing off for awhile. L.O.V.E it! I also hit the shops and bought some stuff from Sportsgirl. I’m not too sure on the sunnies. I loved them when I tried them on in the shop, but then at home the boy said they looked a little bit “Harry Potter-cross-Dame Edna”… damn him! Now I’m not too sure on them. LOVE the laser cut suede top I picked up though.

Oh and I also got a new makeup storage box… Will show you guys soon…. as soon as I complete the FUN task of filling it. SO FUNNNNNNNNNNNNN (am I the only freak that thinks organising makeup is fun?)

breakfast at vue *drool*

My tree all decked out in my bling

sportsgirl goodies

What do you think of the sunnies? I think they may only look good with my hair down.

Did you know it’s my last day of having long hair? I go in for the chop tomorrow!! So excited. Stay tuned for blog post.

5 Responses to “cheers to the freakin’ weekend”

  1. Jennifer September 12, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    Love the sunglasses 🙂 Jen xoxo http://mystylisticlife.wordpress.com

    • hip&haute September 12, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

      Thanks Jen. Maybe I just have to wear them with confidence, who cares if I look a little Harry Potter-ish!

  2. Haute Style September 12, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    The sunglasses look lovely! WTH is T-Boy on about!?

    • hip&haute September 14, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

      Thanks doll. They only really look good if my hair is down. Oh wells. I can live with that.

  3. Caitlin Harrison (@chasing_cait) September 19, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    How did the big chop go?!!?? When do we get to see pics?!!? I did it a year ago, everyone commented on how much weight I had lost hahah (only off my head!)

Leave a Reply

