CHANEL Graphite Le Vernis

5 Sep

So call me evil, but when shopping in David Jones with my Mum a few weeks ago, I may have sneakily suggested we check out the new collection from Chanel. You see if there is anyone more swayed by pretty cosmetics than me, it would be my Mother. We are similar in the sense that we are both attracted to expensive beautiful cosmetics like Snoop Dogg is attracted to a poolside party full of big bosomed, bikini-clad chicks.

So there we were, cooing over the new nail varnishes, when one of the lucky 3 made a lasting impression on us. My mum tried it on, and we had only turned around and walked a few steps before we were both back begging the Chanel lady to sell it to us. The excuse? My mum had a few special events coming up and this colour was PERFECT! Oh and it turned out to be the last one! “See”, I said “It was meant to be”. And that’s how my Mum became the proud owner of Chanel Graphite Le Vernis (AU$39) from the Illusions d’Ombres de Chanel Fall 2011 Collection.

BE STILL MY BEATING HEART…

I am one of those people who don’t see the point in spending a near 40 bucks on a nail polish, but I may have spoke too soon, as Graphite is a unique breed of varnish. And I am a sucker for Chanel packaging so yeh.

I would describe Chanel’s Graphite as a charcoal silver foil with a chameleon effect. Depending on which way the light hits it, it can throw a silvery sparkle or a gorgeous green-gold sparkle. It truly is gorgeous. The finish on the varnish is great too – even though it has fine glitter particles through it, it applies smoothly and leaves a smooth flat finish. Two coats and a top coat were enough to create the look above. These were taken in natural sunlight – where they do their best work!! 🙂

Chanel Graphite is listed as Limited Edition, so if you are lucky enough to still find a bottle of this – SNAPPLE IT UP!! I don’t think there are any exact dupes out there for Graphite, and it is quite unique. I’m wishing I hunted down a bottle for myself. I’m going to be unwilling in giving this one back to mother dearest.

It was purchased at David Jones for AU$39.

What do you think? Would you fork out $39 for a Chanel nail polish?

11 Responses to “CHANEL Graphite Le Vernis”

  1. memybestandi September 5, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    EVIL!!

    It is heaven, heaven , heaven! Go your Mum!

    Am hoping I’ll get some sort of a Graphite fix with OPI – Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous , I have it at home but yet to swatch. It won’t be the same as Graphite but close, maybe…maybe…just maybe!

    • hip&haute September 5, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

      Hahaha my mum is easily swayed though. OOOOHHH I am gonna pick myself up a bottle of OPI Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous then! Thanks for that.

  2. Moo Moo September 5, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    Don’t be silly girlfriend… it was the product was what swayed me!! That nail polish rocks, I love it 😛

    • hip&haute September 5, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

      Hehe 🙂 It was love at first sight wasn’t it?!

  3. Savory Simple September 5, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    Great color!

  4. Celeste @ Becoming Beautiful September 6, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    So pretty! It looks like it might be rough but it isn’t! So gorgeous *_*

    • hip&haute September 6, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

      Yeah I thought it might have a rough texture… but not all! And it isn’t too bad to take off either.

  5. Marusya V September 14, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    I could not decide which one to get Graphite OR Peridot…. Walked out with Peridot in my hands LOL
    Both polishes are AMAZING!!!!! Chanel as always is on top;)

    • hip&haute September 15, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

      We were looking at both too. Graphite was just more “after 5 glamour” so that’s why it won! lol

  6. Rin September 20, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    $39 is a bit steep for me just for a nail polish, but I went ahead and got Peridot because it was limited edition. Never really been a fan of silverish polish so graphite is not for me but because it’s limited edition, I might just have to add it to my collection! I really want quartz but it’s going to be a part of the permanent collection so that can wait. I think that graphite would be a fun twist as a tip to a French manicure 🙂

Leave a Reply

