Rahua / Revolutionary Rainforest Hair Care

10 Aug

Bathing Beauty Organic Apothecary have launched yet another amazing exclusive organic brand – RAHUA. Born in the Amazon and perfected in NYC by Fabian Lliguin, this range is another level of hair care. The Rahua Amazon Beauty hair care range utilises the super fine oil of the Rahua nut, found only in the depths of the Amazon, to rejuvenate lifeless, dull and damaged hair. It’s unique molecular structure penetrates the hair shaft repairing the hair from the inside out, leaving your hair healthier and smoother than ever.

What’s great about this hair care brand is that even today, Amazon Beauty work in close partnership with the Quechua-Shuar tribeswomen. The Rahua oil is sourced and processed by these women in accordance with the traditional methods that have been passed down for generations. Rahua are advocate for fair trade and ethical sourcing of ingredients and gives back a percentage of sales to their sister organization Ecoagents.

I was lucky enough to be given the Rahua Finishing Treatment (AU$65.00 for 2oz) to trial. This finishing treatment prevents hair from splitting during styling, blow-drying, hot ironing and combing. Super-fine Rahua oil molecules deeply penetrate the hair’s cortex to rebuild even the most damaged tresses – strengthens strands and leaving hair smooth, shiny and frizz-free. Silicone-free, it strengthens and allows hair to grow longer while providing a glossy, weightless finish.

Everything about this product, from the treatment down to the packaging screams luxury – even the thought of using the oil of the Rahua Nut makes me feel like I am coating my hair in love… luxurious love, the kind that is often reseved for special occasions. Well, it doesn’t have to be so. You only need use the smallest amount of the cream to coat the ends of your hair (too much product and you run the risk of having any oily mess), so you can afford to use this just as much as you would any other finishing treatment. This jar will seriously last a looonnggggg time!

I use this on wet, clean hair only on the ends (like you would argan oil products) by scooping out a small 20 cent piece size of the treatment and running through the wet ends. You can then proceed to blow dry your hair, or even let your hair dry naturally. This gorgeous treatment will tame frizz and fly-aways no matter which way you choose to go. Below is a demonstration of my hair wet, with Rahua Finishing Treatment applied to the ends of the hair and let to dry naturally. The right hand side shows the smooth and shiny finish it gives to your hair. I hadn’t used a hair dryer or straightner… just combed the product through and let dry by itself. Amazing!

I have never come across anything that makes my hair silky and smooth like this finishing treatment does. It has replaced my beloved Moroccanoil, and measures up to, if not excels the results I was getting from my Moroccanoil. And it smells yummy.

I know that a lot of people who liked Moroccanoil were looking for a substitute that didn’t contain any synthetics or silicones. Not that it’s all bad, but the silicones in Moroccanoil are used to give you that softness and shine in the beginning, but after time and product build up, aren’t so beneficial. So you’ll be happy to know that all RAHUA products (finishing treatment included) are:

  • Paraben free, USDA approved with organic ingredients
  • Botanical-based; no animal ingredients
  • No sulfates
  • No synthetics, silicon free
  • No chemical preservatives
  • No GMO ingredients
  • No dyes or petroleum ingredients
  • No animal testing
  • Recyclable, reusable, reduced packaging
  • 100% natural & 100% Vegan
The only down side is that it is quite exxy, at $65.00 for the jar, it’s a bit hard on the ol’ hip pocket. But when you think about it, a bottle of Moroccanoil cost around $55, so for $10 extra you get an all natural product that will last for just as long, if not longer.
The service from Bathing Beauty was exceptional. It all came packaged in cute recyclable packaging and I even got some extra little samples chucked in, and a choccie!! That was demolished in 0.05 seconds, obviously!
Deets:
Rahua Finishing Treatment – $65.00 for 2oz
Range starts from $55 and includes a Shampoo & Conditioner, Treatment, Elixir and Volumising Hair Spray.
[Image Source: bathingbeauty.com.au and my own]
I was kindly sent this product for consideration, as per my disclosure statement, this did not influence my opinion in any way and all reviews are of my own honest opinion.
6 Responses to “Rahua / Revolutionary Rainforest Hair Care”

  1. budgetbourgeois August 10, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    Sounds divine. The price is so far out of my range, my vision’s getting blurry but it sounds absolutely decadent. The fact that it’s fair trade is icing on the cake to me.

    • hip&haute August 16, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

      It is quite divine. I am the same, not so keen on spending a lot of money on hair products but I guess you get what you pay for. 🙂

  2. memybestandi August 10, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    I love that this has no silicones etc- I’ve made the switch to SLS and silicone free shampoo & conditioner recently (breakouts on hairline, cheeks and neck) As far as I have researched this is the only “Moroccan oil” type product that offers that apart from pure Argan oil which is too heavy for my hair- Ill definitely consider this in future Thanks 🙂 Love hearing about stuff I haven’t come across

    • hip&haute August 16, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

      Happy to help! I hate getting breakouts from hair products… no good 😦

  3. asti November 2, 2012 at 12:15 am #

    I am so keen to try the finishing treatment out. I have had success with their volumnious line + the hair spray they really do add so much volume to my hair (and detangling it)! However, sometimes I do need a heavier conditioner, scared that their original formula is too heavy for me though. Does this finishing treatment weigh your hair down with continued use? I rarely/almost never blow-dryed or curled/straighten my hair but the ends are on the dry side. What’s your take?

    • hip&haute November 8, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

      Hey Asti, I have really fine hair and the finishing treatment doesn’t weigh my hair down at all! It’s a thick cream, so only use a small amount and only on the ends. But I love the stuff and highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

