Bloom Berry Bang… not so bangin’

31 Jul

Bloom Cosmetics and Boost Juice have come together to create a collection of lip balms based on Boost Juice most popular smoothie flavours; Tropical Storm, Strawberry Squeeze, Banana Buzz, Mango Tango, Berry Bang and Watermelon Crush.

What Bloom say:

Give your lips a Boost with six mouth-watering new Bloom Lip Balms packed full of Boost flavour! We’ve taken your favourite Boost Juice smoothies and combined them in the beauty blender with soothing beeswax, nourishing jojoba seed oil and moisturising vitamin E. These naturally flavoured lip balms are almost good enough to eat!

Umm. I wouldn’t say that they are good enough to eat? I seriously had a hard time trying to get a whiff of the scents. I’ve smelt WAY better in the lip balm department.

After sniffing furiously like a crack addict (no kidding, just ask Yolly), I settled on the Berry Bang flavour. It seemed to be the only one out of the whole lot that had a pungent enough scent and hadn’t been ripped open by some feral kid and been smeared all over the lid. Booo. I would have liked to get Strawberry Squeeze, but alas, the last one of that had fallen victim to said feral kid (or adult for that matter… wouldn’t surprise me).

What I don’t like:

• These hardly replicate the smell of the Boost smoothies (and I should know, I worked at Boost Juice for 3 years) and they don’t have any taste. :( I was expecting some awesome flavour similar to the smoothies they were trying to emulate. Sadly, nothing.

• No SPF factor… BIG let down.

• Quite expensive for what it is.

• The packaging is odd… it’s oval shaped. I like it, but I don’t. It seems weird to apply to lips. I keep turning it in different angles to try and figure the best way for precise application.

What I DO like about these lip balms are that they use natural ingredients, such as beeswax and jojoba oil to moisturise and they are free from nasties such as parabens, petrochemicals, mineral oils and silicones. BIG THUMBS UP! Oh and the packaging is kinda cute.

So this is great to apply liberally throughout the day to keep those smoochers of yours well hydrated and flake-free! I like that it is small enough to take everywhere with me, and I like to pop it on my work desk to remind me to keep the lips well moisturised.

I bought this by going halves with Yolanda on our shopping trip together using the exclusive 2 for $10 Boost Lip Balm voucher at Myer, which you can download from the Bloom Cosmetics website here

RRP $6.95 (AUD) for 4g

Available at Boost Juice stores, Myer and David Jones stores nationwide.

Or online at bloomcosmetics.com

Would I repurchase? No.

[image source: bloomcosmetics.com and my own]

6 Responses to “Bloom Berry Bang… not so bangin’”

  1. Yolanda July 31, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    Glad I wasn’t the only one who felt that way about it!

    • hip&haute August 1, 2011 at 10:15 am #

      Yeh it’s not horrible… it’s just a-ok. There are better/cheaper lip balms out there.

  2. Hayidan's Intuition July 31, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    Thanks for posting, I’ll have to try it out.

  3. Chloe August 25, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    A disappointing result. I love my Natio lip balm because it’s also SPF 30… but doesn’t smell or taste good. Much rather sun safe as my first priority though.

    http://socialemissions.blogspot.com/

    • hip&haute August 29, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

      I know, as I get older I’m becoming more and more sun safe! I don’t want all these products I use to go to waste from too much sun exposure. Thanks for your comment Chloe!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

