the yoggie bare face mask

24 Jun

I got talking on Twitter one day with Audra from Audra James Botanicals about natural ingredients that you can buy from the store and use as facial treatments/face masks at home. A few that popped up were Avocado Oil, Avocado, Yoghurt, Honey, Egg, Lemon etc. This spiked my curiosity, as I had some natural yoghurt leftover in the fridge, and I had never made my own face mask before.

So I decided, I would head home and try out a Yoghurt and Honey face mask, as Audra said that the lactic acid in yoghurt is great for exfoliating and fading discolouration (which is exactly what I needed!!). The honey would help moisturise.

Externally, lactic acid and enzymes in yoghurt help to hydrate and sooth the skin, leaving it soft and smooth. The cleansing properties which make it beneficial to digestion, purify the skin as well, both when applied directly to the skin and when ingested. When combined with honey and lemon juice, yogurt makes a moisturising and exfoliating mask, great for softening the face and neck and minimising discolouration.

Benefits from using yoghurt on the skin:

  • Clear skin
  • An effective remedy for sunburn
  • Helps with blemishes
  • Tones down freckles
  • Whitens the skin
  • Exfoliates the skin due to the lactic acid contained in yoghurt
  • Moisturises the skin

Yoghurt can be used alone or blended with other natural ingredients in your own home. You must be careful to choose yoghurt with live active cultures in order to get the full benefits. When using yoghurt topically it is best to use plain, not flavoured yoghurt.

So here I bring you……… the YOGGIE BARE FACE MASK (corny but oh so clever… I’m smarter than your average bear! So I like to think)

YOGGIE BARE FACE MASK – a DIY Natural yoghurt and Honey face mask

All you need is:

1 Tablespoon of Natural Yoghurt

1 squeeze of Honey

Small bowl and spoon

Add a spoon of yoghurt to a bowl and then squeeze a small amount of honey in (how much you use is up to you).

Mix together well.

Spread all over face and leave on for 15-20mins.

I just used the back of a spoon to spread it all over my face, but you can use a brush or fingers, whatever you please.

After leaving it on for 15 mins, I washed the mask off with warm water and a washer and was presented with  clear, radiant skin! The face mask didn’t cause any skin reactions (there was slight tingling but nothing major) so I would say this would be great for most skin types, no matter what your concerns. And because you make this at home, with natural ingredients – you know what has gone into it.

Not only is a DIY face mask at home using natural ingredients great for your skin… it’s great for your hip pocket too!

Information Source: here 

13 Responses to “the yoggie bare face mask”

  1. Me my best and I June 24, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    Is that you BooBoo?

    LOVE this , great post.

    Maunka honey would be awesome as its mega ant-bacterial, anti-fungal, healing etc. Oats maybe too for soothing and would be a bit scrubby as well. YUM love this , going to try.

    My Mums friend also gave me a foolproof hangover cure- mash natural yoghurt & banana & manuka honey in a bowl and devour. Its got all the nutrients/electrolytes etc you need to kick your hangover. I try it in desperate times and it really helps. Will slap some on my face next time too!

    • hip&haute June 24, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

      Haha LOL… omg you made me burst out laughing.

      Yes Manuka would be GREAT! So true. I had oats in the cupboard – dang, should have added them in. Maybe I should do a super combo sometime and add a crap load of stuff in one mask.

      Yes I’ve heard bananas are good for hangovers – can’t say I get hangovers, I choose not to drink much.

  2. jade June 24, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    Yummy 😀 I make the same mask and throw in some oat bran for extra exfoliation and calming properties 😀

    • hip&haute June 24, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

      Oh I might try some oats in it next time! Good idea Jade!

  3. 101naturalblush June 24, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    I really like masks that are natural! I mean they are easy to make, affordable and good for you. This way you can at least to some extent control what goes on your skin!

    =)

    Cheers

    • hip&haute June 24, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

      So easy and affordable – tick and tick!! Thanks for your comment Darya.

  4. Michelle June 24, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Ha, just like Me, my best and I and Jade, I make this with manuka honey and oats too. It’s amazing a day or two after a clay mask. (:

    • hip&haute June 24, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

      I just did a clay mask last night! So I might try this concoction on the weekend Michelle! Thanks for the tip doll.

  5. Marusya v June 24, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Haha you look cute!!! Yogurt mask is looking fine, you should try strawberry on. That’s what can scare anyone including unexpected visitors I. E. Jehova’s witnesses LOL // Great post!

    • hip&haute June 24, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

      Thanks babe! Bahaha yes I’m planning on trying some more combos of different ingredients. I never have anyone come over to scare… boo hoo.

  6. Priyanka June 24, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    I used to do a similar thing when I was much younger…used yogurt but with ground up lentils so it made it like a paste…i think it was like an old Indian beauty remedy lol…looking good:)

    • hip&haute June 27, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

      That’s interesting. Yes supposedly using Yoghurt as a beauty treatment dates way back.

  7. Ningrum October 10, 2011 at 6:39 pm #

    What a yummy idea! 😀 I want to try this at home immediately. I tried yogurt-only mask once, and I think to add honey is a good idea.

    Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

