neon dare

19 May

It’s blindingly beautiful, and even all the celebs are bang up for a bit of neon pink. Working on both pale and tanned skin, the neon fuchsia pink lip is a fun and flirty way to liven up your look. The joy of this trend is that there are no rules, you can still wear it with a dark smoky eye à la Gwen Stefani, or with just a slick of liquid eyeliner like Emma Stone.

Kelly Osbourne loves the new Candy Yum-Yum Matte lipstick (AU$36) from the M.A.C Quite Cute collection, and is seen sporting it on many occasions. Maggie Gyllenhaal took the neon pink trend to the red carpet at the 2010 Oscars by wearing Nars Semi Matte Lipstick in Schiap (AU$58) and Emma Stone wore Nars Pure Matte Lipstick in Carthage (AU$54, from the new summer collection) at this year’s Met Ball.

My question to you is, do you love it or loathe it?

Would you dare to wear it?

[Image Source: SassiSam , MadisonPlus , Hollywood Celebrity Gossip News , Zimbio , Bellasugar.com , Stylist.com ]

7 Responses to “neon dare”

  1. meredith May 19, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    I love it! My lips arent very plump though so I have to be careful with bright colours. Oh, and I think u need to also be careful because they can make your teeth look yellow if they aren’t pearly white. xx

    • hip&haute May 20, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      True about the teeth point, never really thought about that. Eeeep. Why do you have to have plump lips? Maggie Gyllenhaal doesn’t have huge lips and hers looks good… I’m the other way, I have HUGE lips and I feel like bright colours make them stand out too much and look “clownish” 🙂

  2. Frankie May 19, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    I think if done correctly, it look FANTASTIC. But sometimes it just doesn’t look good. I would never wear this… I’d feel as if I wear in 13 going on 30.

    • hip&haute May 20, 2011 at 10:57 am #

      Yes, agree… everything has to be perfect to fit in with the look, flawless matte skin, a thought out outfit… it’s tricky business to pull off some beauty looks, hehe.

  3. Lilit May 19, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    LOVE IT! But then again I am obsessed with bright lipstick at the moment. I have my eye on Nars Schiapp, thinkin of putting online order through for it as I can’t justify the $58 price tag at Mecca. And you totally rock bright lips, like the orange illamsqua gloss you have, so you’d def suit this colour too.

    • hip&haute May 20, 2011 at 10:56 am #

      I really like it too, and also have my eye on Nars Schiap. I really want to try a few Nars things (in particular the Sheer Matte foundation, laguna bronzer, multiple stick etc. ) and I might finally get around to doing on order online…. one day…. sigh. Thanks muchly, I am still a lil hesitant to wear a bright lip out in public thou. :s

  4. Me my best and I May 23, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    Love it and particulary love it on Emma Stone

Leave a Reply

