Illamasqua Mistress

14 Mar

Remember back when I had my ‘makeup for my alter ego’ done at the Illamasqua counter Myer Brisbane (read here) and I said that I purchased a few things? Well here is one of them… the Illamasqua Intense Lipgloss in Mistress! A vividly orange/coral gloss with the sticking power of a Lady Gaga song (I’m banking on the fact that you like Lady Gaga songs here).

Here is what Illamasqua say about the Intense Lipgloss range:

“Come out of the shadows with high-shine, colour-rich Illamasqua Intense Lipgloss in a wide range of bold colours. Create lips that look full and glossy, without feeling sticky. Draw attention to your lips, and to you.”

The packaging is a tube with a nifty angled application top. You can apply it with the tip or a lip brush. The product itself is quite thick and opaque and you can apply it full on for a dramatic look or pat it down for a subtle wash of coral (probably good for those girls wanting to rock a coral lip but a bit shy of the coral lipsticks).

I took the below photo under a bright light to show you the intensity of the colour. But being a coral, it can throw either more pink or more orange depending on the light.

I didn’t use a flash or have very good lighting for the last photo (taken with my camera), surprisingly I got a better match in true colour representation from using the camera on my iPhone 4 (ahhh love you Apple) in the first four photos. I hope you can see how intensely pigmented it is. You can wear this by itself, or over a coral lipstick as demonstrated below, using Illamasqua ‘Over’ lipstick shade.

The intense lipgloss is a bit sticky but not in a bad way. I feel like it needs to be so that it lasts on the lips. The intense lip glosses would be good for lasting all night at a party but I wouldn’t recommend slapping this on right before a dinner date – once you start eating and drinking it will transfer off. If you shy away from bold, bright lips, then I would recommend maybe trying the other range of lipglosses from Illamasqua – the Sheer Lipgloss range.

The colours in the range are all gorgeous, and I can’t wait to go back to Illamasqua and try more.

Illamasqua is available at Myer stores. The Lipglosses retail for AU$33 (7ml). Check out www.illamasqua.com for their range of bold colours in the Intense Lipgloss range and to find your nearest store location.

[Image source: Images are of my own, please do not use without prior permission]

12 Responses to “Illamasqua Mistress”

  1. Stacey March 14, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Gorgeous! Can’t wait til Illamasqua lands in Adelaide :)

    • hip&haute March 14, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

      Thanks!
      Do you know if they are Stacey? That sucks you have to wait :(

  2. Katy Potaty March 14, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    OMG OMG OMG I love this! I’m wondering if I have time to head to Myer before work in the morning to get it…?!

    Thanks for posting photos from a few different light sources, it definitely helps me work out what it would look like in person! :)

    • hip&haute March 14, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

      Haha if you get up extra early maybe?? Oh thanks for the feedback. I thought the post was a bit too image heavy but I really wanted to get a proper representation across! xxx

  3. xdivx March 14, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    ohh that looks like a really nice colour! i might pop in and test it!

    • hip&haute March 15, 2011 at 10:10 am #

      Let me know on twitter if you get anything!! Love seeing what people get – especially if it’s Illamasqua!!

  4. Megan March 14, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    That colour is insanely gorgeous, I hope Illamasqua comes to Perth sometime so I can try out some of their beautiful products

    • hip&haute March 15, 2011 at 10:10 am #

      Thanks Megan! I hope they land in Perth for you too!
      Checked out your blog! :) Welcome to the blogging world. Are you on twitter?

  5. Gillian March 15, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    You pull off coral very well!
    I love the packaging, it always catches my eye at the counter. Might have to try Illamasqua soon.

    • hip&haute March 15, 2011 at 10:07 am #

      Why thank you gilly! Illamasqua is such good quality. I recommend their blushes (so pigmented), their lipglosses (again so pigmented) and their eyeshadows, bronzer, powder foundation… GOSH why don’t I just say everything!! lol

  6. Parlourandloot March 18, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    That colour is STUNNING! Reminds me of Stila’s Lip Glaze in “Tangerine” but more opaque – definitely keen to try! X

  7. Haute Style March 19, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    YOU ARE ONE SEXY WOMAN!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

