Seasonal scents

24 Feb

I was recently asked the question by a reader, “Do you change your perfume to suit the season?” And when I thought about it, I came to the conclusion that I subconsciously do. I mean I always go for my ‘type’ (read: musky, floriental with hints of  woody vanilla scents) but I do like to lighten it up in Spring/Summer with notes of summery floral scents and then go back to my roots with musky/woody scents in the cooler months. Choosing a scent is always going to be of personal preference, but I always think it’s nice to exude some deep spicy notes in the winter time – you know… to heat things up a little.

So I have compiled a list of new fragrances just in time for the new season that may float your boat (it’s autumn next Tuesday y’all know?).

Note: As I said, choosing a fragrance is a personal thing, and I have based my recommendations off what I believe to be suitable and personally appealing. Always source a sample of the scent and try it on your skin.

Sensual Jil by Jil Sander

Top Notes: Blackberry / Middle Notes: Floral Notes, African Orange Flower / Base Notes: Patchouli, Vanilla

Available now from selected Myer and David Jones.

Gucci Guilty by Gucci

Contains notes of mandarin, pink pepper, peach, lilac, geranium, amber and patchouli.

Available now from Myer, David Jones, selected chemists and retailers.

Black Orchid by Tom Ford

In the floral-spicy heart, dwells the Tom Ford’s black orchid, imaginary more than real, and the base combines woodsy notes (patchouli and sandalwood), dark chocolate, incense, amber, vetiver, vanilla and balsam.

Available now at David Jones.

Naughty Alice by Vivienne Westwood

Fragrance Notes include black rose, violet, ylang-ylang and musk.

Available Now at Myer and David Jones.

Hervé Léger Femme by Avon

Top Notes: Chinese magnolian flower and Sicilian pink grapefruit / Middle Notes: Honeywood and Moroccan Orange flower / Base Notes: Wood and Vanilla

Available March 7 from www.avon.com.au

[Image source: sassisam.com www.fragrantica.com ]

Leave a Reply

