playing with the new kid on the block

12 Feb

Last Saturday, Annica and I decided it was about time we check out the Illamasqua counter at Myer in the Brisbane Queen Street Mall and treat ourselves to a day of makeovers and retail therapy (and some scrumptious sushi thrown in for good measure). Illamasqua is relatively new to Australian shores and the response from bloggers nationwide is a resounding YIPEEE! We booked ourselves in to see Suzanne for a tour and a bit of a play.

After ‘ooooh’ing and ‘ahhh’ing over all the amazing make up, we both decided to pick out a few eye shadows that we normally wouldn’t go for and see what look Suzanne the MUA could create for us. Naturally I gravatate towards the more natural browns/taupes (typical smokey eye colours), so I decided to go for pastel pinks and purples.

Here is what was used for the eyes:

Powder eye shadow in Toxic

Powder eye shadow in Cancan

Powder eye shadow in Synth

Used as a highlighter on my brow bone and above the crease was Halcyon, an awesome liquid Illuminator

Finished off with liquid eyeliner and mascara, taadaaaa!… the finished result on the eyes!

The face was touched up with the Rich Liquid Foundation in #200 and Powder Foundation in #210. Cheeks were contoured with Powder Foundation #325, gorgeous pale pink Powder blush in Nymph high on the cheekbones and bronzer to finish in Writhe.

Used on the lips was Lipstick in Over, a bright coral pink with a matt finish; and Intense Lipgloss in Mistress over the top. I loved Mistress (the intense lip gloss) and I bought it for myself.

 

Here is the overall finished result, I felt like I should have been attending a Miami beach party afterwards. The look was very bright but still suitable for the day time. Loved all the products used, and loved the finished result!

Annica and I all done up thanks to Suzanne at Illamasqua counter Brisbane.

I picked up a few products (reviews to come) and I really want to go back and get some more, especially that pale pink blush Nymph which was all sold out at the time :(

Everything is such high quality and highly pigmented. It would make a great addition to any make up lovers stash!

If you want to check out Illamasqua for yourself, here are the details:

Online at:

www.illamasqua.com

At Myer stores nationwide.

QLD

Myer Brisbane City, 91 Queen Street, Brisbane QLD 4000

Myer Robina, 167-191 Robina Town Centre Drive, Robina QLD

 

[Image are my own, please do not use them without prior permission]

10 Responses to “playing with the new kid on the block”

  1. Lilit February 12, 2011 at 9:22 pm #

    I love that lip colour on you, it really brightens up your face and I must admit I’d never think of pairing coral lips with purple/lilac eyes but it looks sooo good! And I’m completely addicted to Illamasqua ever since I discovered it in sydney myer about a month ago… I’ve bought lipsticks, bronzing powders and I’m ashamed to say I could not keep away and went back again today and got a nailpolish and a lipgloss. I’m just glad that I don’t live/work anywhere near an Illamasqua counter or else my bank balance would be down to zero.

    • hip&haute February 12, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      Why thank you L! Yes it was a bit random. haha. I know what you mean… I would be in serious trouble if I worked in the city and had easy access to the Myer store. I SOOO want more. I want more blushes and the bronzer. Well just EVERYTHING! LOL. How good is the lipstick in Obey? Annica picked it out and had it on and I saw it on your blog and it looks gorgeous on you!!

      • Lilit February 12, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

        Obey is gorgeous, have been wearing it pretty much everyday since I got it. A word of warning though, their lipsticks are sooo dry/matte that mine started wobbling coz of the pressure I put on it while applying and then it came out of the tube! The main reason I went to Illamasqua today was to see if they could replace it for me, but the guy just offered me a free lipgloss coz he said he couldn’t guarantee it wouldn’t break again. Plus he said I could keep my broken Obey (which I’ve now fixed by melting and sticking back into its pot). Great customer service, will make me go back again for sure!

      • hip&haute February 12, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

        Yes I noticed how drying it was when I tried obey on. Part of the reason I didn’t get it. Ahh I hate when lipstick breaks out of the tube – had a MAC one that did that. It’s good to know that they are willing to please at illamasqua. Just one of many pros for the company.

  2. Dempeaux February 12, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

    I really love this look! It’s not something I thought would work in combination, but it’s all pulled together really well. I bet you can’t wait to go back :)

    • hip&haute February 12, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

      It was just a bit of a play around but it did work well. I loved the lips. Yes! I want to get so much more. Kicking myself I didn’t get more at the time to take advantage of the 25% off. Ah well.

  3. Jade February 13, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    Aww you both look so gorgeous!!! :D

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention playing with the new kid on the block « -- Topsy.com - February 15, 2011

    [...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Illamasqua Australia, Sarah Cook. Sarah Cook said: Shopping, sushi OH and squeezed in a makeover!..here is how I spent last weekend with @Haute_Style and @IllamasquaAus http://wp.me/p1aiuj-6n [...]

  2. Illamasqua Mistress « - March 14, 2011

    [...] I had my ‘makeup for my alter ego’ done at the Illamasqua counter Myer Brisbane (read here) and I said that I purchased a few things? Well here is one of them… the Illamasqua Intense [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

