Shattered!

25 Jan

Not me personally. I’m talking about my new nail polish that I am totally obsessed with. And in turn – shoving in everyone’s face, saying “LOOK!”

What is it you ask? Only the most anticipated nail polish of the year… O.P.I Black Shatter (AU $19.95). A deep asphalt black with a ‘shattered’ texture. It works by painting a thick coat over nails with a dry (and preferably lighter) nail polish applied, and the lacquer slowly dissolves to produce a cracked or “shattered” effect, letting the bottom nail colour show through. The effect works best on light coloured polishes, especially metallic or glitter polishes.

This is the finished effect of the O.P.I Black Shatter (AU $19.95) over the top of a metallic bronze gold ROKK 96 nail polish that I picked up from Price Attack for $7.95 (so cheap and it’s darn good to apply too).

To achieve the consistency above, I applied fairly thick coats of the Black Shatter. But beware, you have to work fast as it dries REALLY quickly and gets all gluggy (is that even a word?) on the brush. But the joys of this polish is that you don’t have to be perfect or precise in the application. You can achieve smaller ‘shatters’ just by applying a thinner coat of the black shatter.

You can purchase Black Shatter from David Jones stores nationwide, but hurry as it’s only available for a limited time as part of the Katy Perry for O.P.I collection and the Serena Williams for O.P.I  Grand Slam collection. I find that it sells out really quickly, so if you need this in your life (and I’m telling you… you do!) then you can buy the Serena Williams Grand Slam set that includes the Black Shatter from Adore Beauty here for $29.95.

What do you think of the Black Shatter? I’m personally loving it sick as I can achieve a similar look to a leopard print effect without the hassle of applying nail foils. And we all know I go a little crazy for leopard print! 😛

4 Responses to “Shattered!”

  1. Lilit January 25, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Oooh I’m loving the look on your nails! I never thought much of the shattered effect coz I thought it might make ny nails look unkempt, i.e. like my polish has started chipping off horribly and i haven’t bothered with it (a look I despise), but it looks great on your nails! I might have to try if after all…

    • hip&haute February 7, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

      I know what you mean… I had similar thoughts, but it doesn’t look unkept at all. You should try and get it!

  2. Gillian February 7, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    I’ve got a bottle on it’s way to me in the post, can’t wait to give this a go 🙂

    • hip&haute February 7, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

      It is so awesome. I love it because it kind of makes a leopard print effect. I saw it on your pink nail polish – looked hot!

Leave a Reply

