Review: Aveeno Positively Radiant Tinted Moisturiser

6 Nov

Recently I was given the chance to review the Aveeno Positively Radiant Tinted Moisturiser for BellaSugar’s Sugar Spotlight. Personally I am not a huge fan of tinted moisturisers, BUT I am a fan of the new Positively Radiant range from Aveeno after using their cleanser for the past couple of months, which was much needed to bring my skin back from the flaky and desolate state it was in. So I was quite intrigued with the chance to try the Aveeno Positively Radiant Tinted Moisturiser.

First thing that brought a smile to my dial was the fact that this tinted moisturiser was broad spectrum, protecting the face from harmful UVB and UVA rays. I am astounded by how many products don’t offer broad spectrum protection, which is so important. So BRAVO Aveeno! I love that it’s SPF 15, but I saw that in the USA the Aveeno Positively Radiant Tinted Moisturiser comes in an SPF 30? This would be more ideal for Australian conditions. I love that it’s also oil free, hypoallergenic and non-comedogenic, so it’s great for all skin types.

I can’t really comment on the effectiveness of the Active Naturals Total Soy Complex to even skin tone and texture, I believe this would be more evident after an extended period of use. However the natural light-reflecting minerals it contains were great at giving a radiant glow to the face. So I guess you can fake it till you make it.

The texture was great, not too thick or runny, except I was very disappointed to find that it didn’t blend on my skin that well and seemed to “ball up”; when trying to apply with a brush, it seemed to cling to the brush and not transfer onto my skin.

My other dislike was the sheerness of the tint. Now I know it specifies sheer tint (I used the fair to light colour), however by the time I vigorously blended this into my skin (to try stop the product from balling up and sitting on top of my skin), it seemed to be all rubbed off and I was left with hardly any coverage. I had to set it with a translucent powder to give it a more matte finish and to also to soften the look of my pores. Because it doesn’t provide coverage, I had to use concealer as well. I guess this would be a great product for younger, more “perfect” skin. Great for teens to wear to school to protect the skin from sun damage (wish I had thought about this earlier, doh).

Overall, I loved the new packaging. The twist lock pump-top is great for girls who need to throw this in their overnight or gym bag and makes it that much more user-friendly. I think the only change I would make to improve this product would be to improve the formula so that it blends and melds with the skin, and maybe that would increase the chance of more coverage. I like that it is light, it just needs to take that step up from leaving my face looking naked (because really, I need a lot more to fake the ‘barely there’ look). Thanks Aveeno and BellaSugar for giving me the chance to trial this tinted moisturiser. I’m a huge fan of the positively radiant cleanser and continue to use it daily after months of use (which says a lot for a beauty blogger with products coming out her wazoo).

8 Responses to “Review: Aveeno Positively Radiant Tinted Moisturiser”

  1. bonkasaurus November 6, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    Nice, I’ve never tried a tinted moisturizer but its a great idea.

    -Bianca at http://theinbetweengirls.wordpress.com/

    • hip&haute November 7, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

      Yeah I’m not an avid user of TM’s but this one was okay… I liked the radiance it gives you. :)

  2. memybestandi November 7, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    I trialled this too- my friend loved it but I wasn’t as keen- I fund the smell really strong. I prefer the Garnier BB I think , more glowy but probably same in terms of coverage!

    • hip&haute November 7, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

      Yeah I was very “on the fence” about this too. I liked some aspects and didn’t like others. This may be great if you have perfect skin. I have some of the Garnier BB cream on its way to me so I can try that out too!

  3. MotorCityMoxie (@MotorCityMoxie) November 8, 2011 at 3:55 am #

    I’ve heard good things about Aveeno. But, I haven’t bought lotion in over 6 years. I use shea butter. I add coconut oil and EVOO to it and my skin glows. Thanks for sharing this info about tinted moisturizer.

    http://motorcitymoxie.com/

  4. MotorCityMoxie (@MotorCityMoxie) November 8, 2011 at 4:03 am #

    I’ve heard good things about Aveeno. But, I haven’t bought lotion in over 6 years. I use shea butter. I add coconut oil and EVOO to it and my skin glows. Thanks for sharing this info about tinted moisturizer.

    • hip&haute November 12, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

      I really like Aveeno, mostly their cleansers and body lotions. Oooh the shea butter idea sounds divine. I bet that works a treat!

  5. Disappointed :( June 20, 2013 at 5:46 pm #

    I have been using this product for about 2 months with no problems, not sure if it is just a coincidence but as the weather has got colder, it isn’t going on my skin like it used to. I had no problems initially, but now it balls up on my skin and the more I try to rub it in, the more it comes off! I think I’ll call their customer care line and see what they say, shame, might be back to the shelves to try something else

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

