ABBW Prep: The Hair Makeover with Oscar Oscar Salon

21 Sep

So like every other blogger attending The Australian Beauty Bloggers Weekend (ABBW), I have been making a list of primping and preening to-do’s for the big event this weekend. On the list? New hurrrrrrrrr (or hair, whatevs). My hair was a bit ratty, split-ends like nobody’s business and my balayage tips were well and truly on the way out. I craved change. I contemplated getting the balayage re-done. But that’s like so 2010. It was time to do what all the cool kids were doing. That’s right… I went in for the CHOP!! Dum dum darrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!! (shocking revelation music)

So who was I to intrust with this hair makeover right before ABBW? Well only the snazzy muffins at Oscar Oscar Salon of course!! They have a reputation for delivering above and beyond, as family members of mine have been to them before (and if the allure of the fancy salon interior, smiling staff, Aveda products and Aveda tea doesn’t do it for ya, what will?). I booked in with the crew at Oscar Oscar Chermside (located at Westfield Chermside, opposite the Apple store).

Oscar Oscar Salon Chermside

So after only one day of deliberation on what style I wanted my hair, I finally came to the conclusion that I wanted the Lob, the look that Olivia Palermo and Lara Bingle are sporting lately. Last Tuesday, I shimmied in (ok no I didn’t) to the salon, ready to be transformed! I was booked in with Michael who would do my cut, and Olivia who would be my colourist (hah! An Olivia to do an Olivia Palermo makeover on my hair – sure sign right?)

After a cup of Aveda Tea – a calming, flavourful tea that promotes a sense of well-being includes peppermint leaf, licorice root and other pure flower essences, Michael got to work on my hair. I explained what I wanted, in the most complicated way possible of course, and Michael got it straight away. I was immediately put at ease and I knew that my hair was in safe and professional hands – literally!

Michael cutting off my hair!!

As soon as Michael was finished cutting my hair, I already loved it!! And I loved how he explained the reason why he did everything the way he did – from how he cut the under layers slightly shorter so the outer layers would fall and curve neatly under so to avoid the dreaded “flick outs” you get when short hair sits on shoulders, down to the cutting style and not adding layers to the front. Everything was perfect, and I hadn’t even had the colour done yet.

Next, Olivia and I discussed hair colour. We used the image below of Olivia Palermo as the inspiration. She agreed with me about balayage being so 2010, and said that the current trend is natural, rich, dessert-like browns and caramels and just enhancing the colour you’ve got. Instead of the obvious balayage look, Olivia advised me that she would be doing a “melting colour” look in which she would lighten the ends of my hair only a few shades lighter than my natural hair color, i.e. the look Liv P has going on.

Olivia asked me lots of questions, such as how many times a week I exercise and wash my hair etc., to determine what formula she was going to use. The roots of my hair were darkened to a dark chocolate brown to add gloss and contrast with the lighter ends using the Aveda Permanent colour range (up to 99% naturally-derived formula). The lighter ends were achieved by literally just painting the ends and then using a comb to brush the colour up into hair to achieve that subtle graduation.

Wanna see the final transformation?? Of course you do…

Before

After

And a montage of the cool “Lob”sters – aka hipsters that are cool and know that the latest trend is the lob. :)

I used Olivia Palermo and Lara Bingle’s ‘Lob’ as my inspiration, and Olivia P’s subtle melting colour.

Ooooh so bouncy and vavoomish (bahaha what a word)! To achieve this, Michael applied 1 pump of Moroccanoil Light into the ends of my hair, then sprayed the Aveda Volumising Tonic into the roots of the hair. He then ‘did his thang’, you know it, that elusive hair salon blow dry that we can’t for the life of us achieve at home… sigh. Michael then used the Cloud Nine Wand to achieve the beachy boho curl through the end and finished the textured style with a good dose of Aveda Air Control. The trick to the loose curl? >>>> Only wrap the hair around two, maybe three times, and then after letting it set for a few seconds, start to move the wand up and down whilst still holding the end of your hair, this movement helps to expand the curl and not let the hair set in that tight ringlet shape. You heard it here first!! Thanks Michael for the tip. :)

the "dream team" Michael & Olivia

The best part, I am able to replicate this look at home using the wonderful Aveda products I took home with me. I am a huuuuuuge fan of the Aveda range, I used the Colour Conserve Shampoo and Conditioner when I went blonde a few years ago, and I credit these products for keeping my hair in top condition and avoided the feeling that a bail of hay had taken residence on my head. Not to mention all Aveda products smell deeeeee-licious. Oh and Air Control hairspray? I could marry this hairspray. It does everything a hairspray should but BETTER. A fine “air-like” mist helps to keep volume and shape in my curls and is devoid of that awful crunchy feeling that normal hairspray gives you. It’s also handy to use to get texture happening. And that’s what we need in short do’s like this.

Aveda products (L - R) Colour Conserve Shampoo, Blue Malva Conditioner, Air Control hairspray and Volumising Tonic

I can happily say, that after 1 week I am loving my new do sick, and it’s so easy to style. A huge thank you to the staff at Oscar Oscar Salon Chermside and most importantly, my dream team Michael and Olivia, for really making dreams a reality. Mwah!! xxxx

If you are looking to get your hair done, I have no hesitation in recommending Oscar Oscar Salons. I already have in fact! My younger sister went in to Oscar Oscar Chermside and went the Lob the same week! What can I say? I’m a trend-setter (:P jokes).

OSCAR OSCAR CHERMSIDE:
Shop 322, Westfield Chermside, QLD
ph.07 3359 7799

Check them out online at www.oscaroscar.com.au for more store locations and recent promotions.

They also have a blog! Check it out and you can find them on Facebook and Twitter 

I was a guest at Oscar Oscar Chermside. Thank you to Sharona Short and the Oscar Oscar team for the complimentary makeover. As per my disclosure statement, this did not influence my opinion in any way and all reviews are of my own honest opinion.

21 Responses to “ABBW Prep: The Hair Makeover with Oscar Oscar Salon”

  1. Tegan McIntosh September 21, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    I never knew the shorter layers underneath trick!! but that explains why every time I get my hair cut short it flicks out at the ends all weather girl style. Ah-may-zing!

    great post sarah! xxx

    • hip&haute September 21, 2011 at 5:05 pm #

      I know right?! Genius. I mean it all makes sense. :)

  2. Haute Style September 21, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    OMG YOU LOOK SO GOOD! SOOOOOOOOOO HOT!!!!!!!

  3. kylie ★ tran (@kxtran) September 21, 2011 at 2:02 pm #

    i am totally in love with your hair. gorgeous!

    • hip&haute September 21, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

      Thank you Kylie. That makes two of us! :) Love it too.

  4. Cendana K (@blushfully) September 21, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    That is HAWT HAWT HAWT!! I’m always worried how hairdressers tend to muck up your haircut or not cut properly but this is just stunning! In love with the va va voom hair – oh I so need a better haircut… ;p is Michael the master stylist?

    • hip&haute September 22, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

      I don’t think you would have any problems with Oscar Oscar, I didn’t get Michael’s position but I would say he is most probably Master Stylist, if not Senior Stylist. He is great! He has over 8 years experience in the industry.

  5. Ling September 21, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    Love it!

    • hip&haute September 22, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

      Thanks Ling! See you this weekend!

  6. Megan (@littlemissmegsy) September 21, 2011 at 9:47 pm #

    You look incredible, so stylish!

    • hip&haute September 22, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

      Thanks Megan! It is so modern but still versatile. Love it. Looking forward to meeting you this weekend.

  7. Christina @ Hair Romance September 22, 2011 at 5:58 am #

    Gorgeous! That is a great cut and really suits you! Colour is fab too x

    • hip&haute September 22, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

      Oh thanks so much Christina!! That means a lot… you are the gorgeous hair expert/blogger after all! Hehe :)

  8. Celina September 22, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    Damn girl, your hair is amazing!! Can’t wait to meet you :D

    • hip&haute September 22, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

      Thanks Celina. :) Can’t wait to meet you this weekend too! Only 1 more sleep! EEK.

  9. Caitlin September 26, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    Your new hair looks gorgeous! I’ve just gone and got myself an ‘ombre’ colour and I am loving it too! Yours is nice and subtle – none of this ‘I forgot to get my roots done for 6 months’ kinda look.

    Hope you had a blast at ABBW!

    • hip&haute September 30, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

      Thank Cait! Yes I was over the tatty “regrowth” look. Even though I loved my balayage, I was craving something healthy and fresher. I had a blast at ABBW! But I’m still recovering, 5 days on! LOL

  10. S. Lamb September 27, 2011 at 3:12 am #

    I’ve ALWAYS wanted to achieve this look with my hair, but you’re right, no matter how hard we try at home, we just can’t do it ourselves! Thanks so much for the tips though. I’m definitely going to try it out, although I’m afraid my hair is too thick to keep any sort of curl :(

  11. n September 30, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    What would you ask for to get this look?

    I want to get the lighter ends but not sure want to ask my hd and don’t want them to muck it up!

    • hip&haute September 30, 2011 at 11:37 am #

      Hi Nat, thanks for the question. I would ask your hairdresser for a “melting colour” which is a more subtle form of balayage. Balayage is the process of free hand “sweeping” on highlights to create dimension. Ask the HD to only lighten your ends 2-3 shades lighter than your natural hair colour and make sure they comb the colour upwards so that it blends seamlessly into your natural colour. Hope this helps! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

