Action Hero ‘Activance’ and the Battle of the Hair Loss

24 May

I have been using the Activance Hair Stimulant now for well over a month and it has been quietly working away in the background, until now!! Lately there have been some stand out moments that made me sit up and think… HEY! This is actually working!!!!

Moments included:

1. At the Brisbane Beauty Bloggers Event, I volunteered my mane for a demonstration of the Cloud Nine The ‘O’ and Lauren McCowan (Creative Director and Stylist for Cloud Nine Australia) quoted “Sarah’s hair is in really good condition*”. As you could imagine, my insides were grinning like a Chesire Cat.
*that may or may not be the exact quote… something along those lines anyway.

2. When I apply this to my damp hair and proceed to comb it, the comb glides through my hair so easily and as a result, I have less hair breakage/fall out.

3. Typically, I lose a LOT of hair, and I have noticed since using Activance that my hair loss has decreased. Sure, I still lose hair, but that is always going to happen and is quite normal. I am happy seeing less hair on my bathroom floor and more on my head!

4. It wasn’t until lately, especially after looking at photos taken of my hair from the Cloud Nine ‘The Wand’ post, that I noticed my hair was looooong. I mean it had GROWN gurll! And that was with curls. Then, more and more people started saying it too!

So I know you are wondering… what in the world is this wonderful “silent hero” you call Activance?

Let’s take a look at this wonder product and what it claims to do…

What is Activance?

Activance is the only stabilised and patented formula on the market that delivers nature’s vital nutrient, Rhodanide, straight to your hair. As rhodanide is essential to forming the bonds that strengthen, nurture, and protect your hair, Activance with Rhodanide helps to make your hair thicker, shinier, stronger, and more vibrant. Even better, it helps to stimulate hair growth by lengthening the hair cycle and reducing hair loss.

Why do I need Activance?

Your hair’s rhodanide levels are  constantly depleted by a number of factors, including:

    • Day-to-day washing 
    • Blow-drying
    • Styling, straightening, and perming
    • Colouring
    • Chemical treatments
    • Dietary Imbalances
    • Stress
    • Drugs & Medicine
    • Health conditions
    • Ageing & Menopause
    • Hormonal Imbalances
    • Free Radicals
    • Chemical Pollution
    • Environmental conditions such as wind and sun damage.

Indeed, on average, your hair will lose about 36% of its natural rhodanide with each wash. This can leave your hair looking dull and lifeless, and can eventually lead to premature hair loss. However, by using Activance, you can instantly restore these rhodanide levels and enjoy thicker, shinier, stronger, easier-to-manage hair.

I didn’t know about this… What is Rhodanide?

Rhodanide is a natural and vital molecule found in all living cells, including human hair. The biological significance of Rhodanide has been documented in over 200 scientific publications worldwide, with research showing that thinning, dry, damaged and coloured hair has a significantly lower level of Rhodanide than healthy, shiny hair. 

Rhodanide consists of nitrogen, carbon and sulphur elements, the three vital elements of all living cells. Rhodanide facilitates the body’s use of sulphur, which has been nicknamed ‘the beauty mineral’ because it keeps hair shiny and healthy. Rhodanide strengthens and stabilises the sulphur-hydrogen bonds in keratin, the protein that forms our hair, enabling the formation of strongly-netted keratin connections between the cuticle layers and cortex of our hair. This strengthens the hair from within, resulting in stable, stronger, more elastic hair with increased volume, improved manageability, and resistance to damage.

As the latest development in hair cosmeceuticals, Activance Hair Stimulant is the only stabilised hair treatment in the world that contains the vital nutrient rhodanide found in egg yolks. 

Scientific research showed that after using Activance, consumers reported the following:

Immediately – Up to 90% of users notice a visible increase in hair volume, thickness, and shine.

After 4 weeks – Up to 70% of users report their rate of hair loss reduced or stopped altogether.

After 6 months – 80% of users regrow their hair, and many report significant reductions in scalp irritation, seborrhea and dandruff.

My Results

Activance Rhodanide is a crystal clear, colourless, non sticky, fragrant lotion which is suitable for all hair types (note: even on sensitive, problematic or oily hair as it leaves no residue, nor does it build up).

I use it every second day after washing and towel drying my hair. I apply about 15-20 sprays of Activance Rhodanide all over my scalp, then massage through, leave on, and style as per usual. The spray does not weigh the hair down, nor make it sticky, so you can leave your hair to dry naturally or blow-dry as usual.

After using Activance Hair Stimulant for just under 2 months now, I have experienced some outstanding results:

  • Hair growth and reduced hair loss – YES! This was the result that I noticed the most. Prior to using Activance, I was malting at a rate that would put my Husky to shame – i.e. A LOT! It was everywhere and wouldn’t stop (so much so that my boyfriend would constantly complain about it, and I would have to vacuum every 2 weeks). I’m happy to say, now that I’m using Activance, my hair loss has decreased and both my boyfriend and I are a lot happier – he is not kicking ‘hair tumbleweeds’ down the hall and I’m not having to vacuum as much (I’m VERY happy about that). I have also noticed (and so have others), that Activance has stimulated my hair growth, by increasing cell multiplication and lengthening the growing phase of my hair cycle it has had a huge growth spurt of late, all thanks to this product. I even have the new hair “fuzz halo” where all the short new hair growing through, stands up on end (doh).
  • Protection against chemical and physical damage – I cannot vouch for the protection of chemical damage (as I haven’t done any chemical treatments such as colouring to my hair recently), but in terms of physical damage, I have noticed that my hair was less prone to breakage and split ends whilst using this product. And as I said earlier in the piece, when I applied this to my damp hair and proceeded to comb it, the comb glided through my hair so easily and as a result, I had less hair breakage/fall out.
  • Added volume, strength and shine – volume was probably the result I didn’t get as much as I would’ve liked, but it did prevent my hair from looking dull and lifeless. Strength and shine were both noticeable and my hair looked and felt healthier.
  • Moisturises and thickens the hair – Activance both swells the hair keratin and allows hair to retain at least 50% more moisture than normal, which decidedly made my hair feel thicker and I noticed increased elasticity and smoother hair follicles, which presented me with less split ends and a smoother, shinier mop of hair.
I’m very happy with the results of the Activance Hair Stimulant and there was nothing I disliked about the product. I admit that I was a bit dubious at first, but this product has delivered on all its promises.
The result that I was most thrilled with was the reduced rate of hair loss I’ve experienced and the obvious increase in healthiness to my hair.
If there was one thing that might deflect me from repurchasing this product, it would be the price. At AU$55 for 200ml, it is a little pricey for the average Jane, but one 200ml bottle will last 2 to 3 months, even longer if you don’t use it everyday. I have been using mine every 2 – 3 days for nearly 2 months and it doesn’t even feel like I’ve used any. But if you are keen to try out this product, you can buy a smaller sized 80ml bottle for only AU$26.
Deets…
200ml – RRP $55 AU
80ml – RRP $26 AU
For more information on the range of products available from Activance, go to the website: www.activance.com.au
For stockists near you, go to activance.com.au/stockists or you can always buy online from their store.

Activance – eggsactly what my hair needed! :)

I was kindly sent this product for consideration, as per my disclosure statement, this did not influence my opinion in any way and all reviews are of my own honest opinion.
9 Responses to “Action Hero ‘Activance’ and the Battle of the Hair Loss”

  1. Lexi May 24, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    You are spot on here.
    Especially the hair growth, I am still stunned at the rate in which my hair is growing – I have been growing it for the past 2 years and now it is at the length I want I don’t know what to do with it :)

    • hip&haute May 24, 2011 at 11:50 am #

      Same, my hair is the longest it’s ever been! Usually it gets to one point and won’t grow longer… I’m really impressed with it.

  2. Kimberley May 26, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    I just bought this after reading that article! I can’t wait to try it and I will let you know what I think!!

    • hip&haute May 26, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

      Awesome! Yes please let me know what you think!! Hope your hair loves it.

  3. Phoebe Diane June 11, 2011 at 4:50 am #

    I’m so glad you posted this! I used to have thick hair, before I decided to dye it a billion different colors in high school. Now it has gotten super thin due to dying and hot tools. I definitely would like to give this product a try! xo

    • hip&haute June 14, 2011 at 9:39 am #

      Glad it was helpful Phoebe. I know this is a problem for a lot of girls.

  4. Chloe Schneider (@chloeschneider_) April 20, 2012 at 2:43 pm #

    Lexi got me on to this and I am SO impressed. My hair is in better condition than ever. I’m using the shampoo now too :)

    • Annette June 15, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

      After taking medication that caused me to go bald within 11 weeks I was recommended Activance I have been using it for about 3 months now I have the best head of hair every it’s so strong and healthy growing like never before I love this product. And I have recommended it to a lot of people.

      • hip&haute June 20, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

        Wow that is awesome to hear Annette

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

