Cloud Nine ‘The Wand’

27 Apr

I’m very, very excited to bring you an exclusive first look at a new tool from Australia’s cult beauty brand, Cloud Nine.

Following on from the success of the Cloud Nine Irons and The O, Cloud Nine Australia leads the way with the international debut of The Wand. This May, beauty buffs and top stylists will finally see the release of a new product, The Wand (RRP AU$270). A curling tool like no other, The Wand will land in Australia ahead of a worldwide release, offering super-styling capabilities combined with the most innovative technology.

Today I had the absolute privilege of visiting Cloud Nine head office in Brisbane to preview The Wand. I sat down with Cloud Nine Creative Director, Lauren McCowan who told me everything there is to know about the new curling tool and also did a styling session using The Wand to show me just how easy it is to use.

the wand with heat guard cover

wand without cover

A long, cone-shaped black barrel makes for a sexy, streamlined aesthetic, with The Wand giving users a style scope to create soft finger waves, loose beach curls or tight ringlets. The length of the barrel, combined with the difference in diameter from the base to the tip, allows for more creativity when styling. A ceramic black barrel features patented technology leaving hair with the finish and gloss of a Cloud Nine styling iron, for that just-stepped-out-of-the-salon look.

Cloud Nine’s signature feature, a highly advanced temperature gauge, suits the full hair scope from super-fine to curly and thick. Dial down to a lower temperature for longer, looser waves, or move the temperature up to create more structured, tighter curls.

Advanced heat technology gives great curl in just a few seconds. Wrap a section of hair around the barrel and release, creating a look that lasts, served with a side of shine. For that session-stylist edge, The Wand comes with two protective accessories, a two finger glove (ala Michael Jackson in “Bad”) to allow total control over The Wand and a heat guard that will protect those wandering little fingers around the house.

A host of the best accessories complete The Wand, with the all-important hibernation mode; can’t-tangle-it-if-you-tried swivel cord and heat guard for a quick style and store. Landing in top salons across the country in the first week of May, The Wand is sure to sell out as fast as it curls.

gorgeous packaging

Like the Flat Iron, The Wand’s barrel is infused with Korean rock mineral coating, which is what makes it so unique. This special coating, combined with the low heat, is the secret to long-lasting, shiny, moisture infused hair. The motto ‘Less heat, more style’ rings true with all their products, and The Wand is no exception. These tools are the key to keeping hair styles in place for longer (which is so rare for a dead straight fine-haired lass like myself) not to mention maintaining the health of your hair. My hair was still “straight-outta-the-salon” swoon worthy a few hours later!

The Wand is longer than most conical wands, giving you that little bit extra length and diameter to play with, depending on what curl you want to achieve. It is super easy to use, just pull a section of hair out 90˚ from the head, hold wand at the section where you want the curl to start with the rubber tip of the wand facing downwards diagonally, and then proceed to wrap the hair around the desired diameter of the wand, and in 4-5 seconds, pull the wand upwards out of the curl and wahlahh!! To do my whole head seriously took less time than if I were to straighten my hair. Being that you don’t have to hold the curl for longer than a few seconds means that you’ll have a head full of Victoria’s Secret worthy curls in less than 15mins.

The temperature gauge on the wand offers 3 temperatures: Low – 125℃, Med – 150℃ and High – 175℃. If you want loose beachy curls, then the low to medium settings are best, or you can dial the gauge up to high for those tight curls.

I’m already in love with this tool – hours later, my hair is still super duper bouncy and curly and just quietly, I’m loving myself just a little bit. Haha! But seriously, who wouldn’t with hair like this?

Brushed out curls

Hours later, still perfect

This tool will be used at Rosemount Australia Fashion Week where Lauren McCowan (Cloud Nine Creative Director) will be joined by the finest in the hair industry – Jon Pulitano, Paloma Rose Garcia and Mathew Jones of Oscar Oscar Salon to create ground breaking looks for some of the hottest labels around. Cloud Nine are the major hair partners for Camilla & Marc, Therese Rawsthorne, Alice McCall, Shakuhachi and Lisa Blue.

Armed with the tools to create volume, curl and shiny straight locks, keep your eyes peeled to Hip & Haute for an exclusive look at the Cloud Nine creations from backstage at RAFW 2011.

For Cloud Nine stockists, please call 1300 C9hair (1300 294 247)

www.cloudninehair.com.au

If you’re as keen as a bean to get your hands on this nifty wand when it comes out mid-May, then keep a look out at leading salons Headcase Hair, Togninis, Luxe Concept Salon and Oscar Oscar salons nationwide.

[Image Source: images courtesy of Cloud Nine, and my own, please do not use without permission]

18 Responses to “Cloud Nine ‘The Wand’”

  1. Gillian April 28, 2011 at 9:17 am #

    I want, or make that NEED this!
    But first I need to grow my hair long!
    Those curls are just gorgeous :)

    • hip&haute April 28, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

      I NEED this too (have to convince the boy) haha.

  2. Christina @ Hair Romance April 28, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    Your hair looks amazing – great review!
    I love the glove – it is so Michael Jackson!

    • hip&haute April 28, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

      Thank you! Haha.. the glove is ridic! In a good way.

  3. Angela April 28, 2011 at 10:42 am #

    Makes me regret that I lopped all my hair off a couple of days ago… lol

    Your hair looks fab!

    • hip&haute April 28, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

      Thanks Angela. Awwww noooo. That always happens. I had really short hair once and it couldn’t grow back quick enough. I actually didn’t realise how long my hair was until I saw these photos. LOL.

  4. Jade April 28, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    My hair is telling me I need this wand!!!

    • hip&haute April 28, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

      Hehe same!! I’m going to tell my boyfriend I want one when he comes back from work. :)

  5. Rachael April 28, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    i shall put this at the top of my christmas list ;D

    • hip&haute April 28, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

      Hehe…looks like we will both be getting this for Christmas if we are good! :)

  6. Rei April 29, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Thanks for the information! This is exactly what I am after, it sounds so much better than the normal curling irons.

    • hip&haute April 29, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

      No problem Rei! It is quite the wand isn’t it? A real investment for the well being of your hair! I want to get one for my fine hard-to-curl hair.

  7. tess May 2, 2011 at 12:28 am #

    Arghhh need-want-need! I have the “O” and LOVE it but this would be amazing for adding more definition, digging the brushed out curls.

    • hip&haute May 2, 2011 at 10:45 pm #

      Ahh same here. I was really impressed at how the curls held even after brushing them out… they lasted till I washed my hair the next night (yes…even after sleeping on them). Amazing!

  8. Ling May 3, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    LOVE IT

  9. Rochelle May 26, 2012 at 2:23 am #

    Hi I jst got da wand n unfortunately my curls did not last a few hrs, do I need 2 finish wid hair spray? Da instruction on da pamphlet is nt helpful

  10. fromtheloftabove January 24, 2013 at 12:15 pm #

    awesome! i love this look, i’m seriously considering getting one. is it true that it’s multi-regional, ie. i can use it all around the world?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

