Ruby Woo

19 Dec

When I finally got the balls to try a red lipstick, who did I run to for help? The lovely girls at M.A.C of course! I love their lipsticks and if anyone was going to bring out the inner vixen in me, it was going to be M.A.C. So when I sat down and told the girl I was looking for a red lippy (preferably matte), she came back with this beauty – RUBY WOO!

M.A.C Ruby Woo (RRP $35) is a vivid bluish-red in a matte finish. The formula doesn’t dry out your lips surprisingly, but beware, your lips must be in top condition to wear this matte lippy, as any flaking is sure to stand out. My tip: before you start make up application, clean your lips and pop a small amount of Lucas Paw Paw Ointment (or any conditioning lip balm) onto your lips, finish your make up and by the time you get around to doing your lipstick last, your lips will be conditioned and ready to roll! You must use a lip pencil to outline your lips beforehand, and I also then continue to fill in my entire lips with the red lip pencil so that the lipstick holds to your lips for longer by minimising lipstick smudging and bleeding. My pick, Rimmel London 1000 Kisses Stay On Lip Liner Pencil in 021 Red Dynamite.

A red lip, especially of the Ruby Woo variety, is not for the faint hearted. But let me tell you a little secret – this look works best with a flawless and bare make up look, which means less time in the bathroom which is great for those times when you can’t be bothered or you just don’t have much time and you need to look sexy and sophisticated in seconds. Just make sure to amp up the bronzer for this look as you don’t want the rest of your face to look washed out.┬áThe colour is a true red and you are bound to get many compliments wearing it.

Being a matte finish, this lippy has serious staying power. If you’re anything like me, that’s a winner because I hate fretting that my lipstick has gone south or MIA. You’ll love that there are minimal touch ups needed with this lippy.

OH Ruby Woo… I love you xxx

3 Responses to “Ruby Woo”

  1. Tegan December 19, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    ooooh looks lovely on you! I love red lippie! x

  2. Amy December 19, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    Looks gorgeous!

  3. mfunnyvalentine December 25, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    Looks great on you! I’ve always wanted to try Ruby Woo..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 112 other followers

